The (blogging) holiday is over

OK, so I’ve been very naughty lately, only one one post in the past three weeks and that was a video of my cat! (If you haven’t seen my coffee drinking cat, here he is!) But I had a good reason, my PC some how (I’m TOTALLY the innocent party here) got itself a virus which has taken a while to get it sorted and removed, and trying to write a blog post on my iPad is an absolute nightmare, so I’m afraid I took a little holiday from all things blog related, but it’s time to get back to work!

My fundraising efforts are ticking along nicely. I’m still working on the raffle, so don’t have any big projects on the horizon just yet, I’ll worry about that after the raffle is drawn at Easter time. My mam is doing great with selling raffle tickets, so big shout out to my mam 🙂  I also need to do a shout out to some of my former colleagues who very generously held an honesty box bake sale during Fairtrade Fortnight, and donated the proceeds towards my cause. It’s truly amazing how helpful other people have been, (and no doubt will continue to be!) in my fundraising challenge, I am very appreciative!

Insight Magazine, St Cuthbert's Hospice

Insight Magazine, St Cuthbert’s Hospice

Also, I’m almost famous in the St Cuthbert’s Hospice Community! The article below was included in their magazine which is sent out to their supporters and volunteers, which includes quite a few people I know, so I’ve had the whole “I’ve seen you in the Hospice magazine!” conversation a few times. Embarrassingly I forgot to tell my family that I was going to be in there, and my mam found out through her friend…oops!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In other news I am donating my time and talents to Marie Curie Cancer Care, having signed up as the Secretary for the recently launched Local Fundraising Group in my town. We’ve only had one official meeting so far, so we’re a very new group.

Launch meeting of our Local Community Fundraising Group for Marie Curie Cancer Care

Launch meeting of our Local Community Fundraising Group for Marie Curie Cancer Care

That being said we’ve already orchestrated a collection day at a local supermarket as part of the Great Daffodil Appeal, which raised over £600 in one day! Our next group meeting will be focused on planning a Blooming Great Tea Party in June, which is another flagship event of the charity. I was a little apprehensive at first about signing up, particularly as I have quite a bit going on at the moment with my own personal fundraising efforts, but now I’m just excited to bring on a new challenge and in doing my part to help more people… it’s a fab feeling 🙂

That’s it until next time, and I promise it will not be as long before my next post… (maybe I should start writing it now just to be sure!!)

Leave a Reply

