Video

Who’s scared of zombies? Not me!

I don’t know about you, but for me pay day could not come quick enough this month. January always seems to drag on forever, and since I get paid early in December, waiting for pay day is like waiting for Christmas when you’re a kid. I’ve had loads to sort out this month: paying off the credit card after buying some lovely new hiking boots in the January sales (obviously a necessity for my upcoming adventure!); hotels, flights and train tickets for my birthday celebrations; vets bill for the devil kitten (neutered so she can explore the big world outside the window); and tickets to take part in what looks like the most exciting interactive game I have ever seen that is available in the UK!

2.8 Hours Later: Asylum

Simon Evans, who co-founded 2.8 Hours Later, describes the game as becoming a character in your very own horror film. 

The lines between reality and game are constantly blurred and broken, and hearts genuinely do get pumping and minds start racing.

Now, maybe I’m not quite right in the head…. but when I watch that trailer and read that description I just can’t wait for the games to begin! I’ve always loved a good horror film, and although I have no desire to be in a real-life horror film situation, I think it’ll be great fun playing the game. Plus, as an avid viewer of The Walking Dead (hands down the BEST TV show out there as far as I’m concerned) I’ve often wondered whether I would survive a Zombie Apocalypse, or Zombocalypse (it’s a real word, I saw it on the internet somewhere which obviously means it’s real!) and isn’t this the safest way to find out? I mean, I’d hate to have to wait until it actually happened to find out how good/bad my survival skills are, so this will be a good test, and like any good test it will highlight my strengths and weaknesses so I know what areas I need to work on. See, it’s not about having fun, it’s all about personal development and survival…..honestly!

In addition to playing the game and being chased around by zombies, I also want to volunteer to be one of the infected, so I get to chase other people (yep, I have a mean streak!). To do this you must first go to Zombie School (if you are lucky enough to be accepted) which I have to say looks like great fun…

As soon as they start accepting applications for my local city I will be registering my interest to be a zombie, just keep your fingers crossed for me that I get in!

5 thoughts on “Who’s scared of zombies? Not me!

  1. Funnily enough this is right up my street! Me and my friend are planning to do the manchester one in July. Cant wait! Which one are you doing? Would love to hear how you get on. Its looks amazing … cant wait. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

