Goodbye 2013, a year of positive change. Let 2014 continue in your footsteps

Last month I finally plucked up the courage to sign myself up to a big charity challenge, the Inca Trail Trek, raising funds for St Cuthbert’s Hospice. For years I’ve been tempted to sign up for one of these big challenges, but I’ve always been a bit scared of needing to raise a minimum amount of £3500+ and so have never quite had the courage to sign up. What is different about this challenge? Not much really. I still need to raise a minimum amount of £3800 which is a scary figure. What helped is that the Hospice held an informal talk about the challenge, the trek itself, preparation for the trek and raising the funds. Attending the talk and listening to our guide talk about the Inca Trail and his own personal charity challenges made it feel much more achievable and inspired me to sign up.

2013 has been a very positive year for me, particularly as the past few years have been really tough as numerous family members have been diagnosed with and were battling cancer. Thankfully this has not continued in to 2013, and that alone is an extremely positive feeling. On a more personal note I have moved jobs in to a new department, currently on a secondment basis until the end of June but I am hopeful it will turn it to something permanent, and if not then I have gained a lot of experience in a new sector and developed new skills. Early in 2013 I lost 2 stone (14lbs) in weight, dropped two dress sizes and am now feeling much more confident and happy in myself. My weight loss inspired me to become more active and exercise regularly, resulting in a new hobby which I love. For the first time in my life I actually enjoy exercising! And earlier this year I took the holiday of a lifetime with my other half, a road trip around California with a few days in Las Vegas. I was lucky enough to go with my parents when I was 16, and I’ve been desperate to go back ever since, and I’m so pleased that I was able to go back there and share some amazing experiences with my husband.

I’m also pleased to say that my fundraising has got off to a great start, (if I do say so myself!). In just seven weeks, and with the help of my friends and family, I’ve already raised 12% of my personal target of £4000. I am so pleased to have got off to such a great start, and it’s certainly boosted my confidence in being able to successfully complete this challenge. There is still a long way to go so I just hope that the next 17 months are as successful! You can follow my financial progress at any time by visiting my JustGiving page here, and of course if your feeling a little flush and generous you can always donate via my JustGiving page too :o)

A big thank you to everyone for your support so far, and for the support that I know will continue into 2014 and 2015. As we say goodbye to 2013 I’d like to wish you all a very happy, and positive New Year for 2014.

xx

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013, a year of positive change. Let 2014 continue in your footsteps

  1. Thank you! That’s a great idea, and for such a great cause too. I did the Ben Nevis Challenge a few years back for the Breast Cancer Care charity, which was a fantastic experience, so really looking forward to this next challenge. Yes I’m in the UK, up in the north east and not to far from the Scottish borders

    Like

Leave a Reply

