Gift wrapping for charity, and a not so secret Secret Santa

Well I’ve been a little lax with blogging over the past few weeks as I’ve been keeping myself pretty busy in the run up to Christmas; parties to go to, presents to buy, family to visit and before I know it three weeks have gone by. Isn’t it scary just how fast time passes by once you’re an adult? I remember as a kid that Christmas could never come quick enough and nowadays it feels like Christmas comes around every few months!

So, I’m sure you’re wondering what I’ve been doing for my big Inca Trail Challenge this month. Wrapping. Lot’s of wrapping. And more wrapping. I’m all wrapped out. In fact, I’m looking forward to just ripping wrapping paper off of presents tomorrow, and not worrying about neat edges and pretty ribbon! But, on the plus side the gift wrapping has brought in £40 so far, with another donation on the way, so it was well worth offering up my services to raise funds. It would also seem that I will get more wrapping jobs next Christmas so I’ll have to be more proactive with my Christmas shopping and wrapping next year and get everything sorted out long before December.

So far I’ve only opened one Christmas present this year (another sign that I am definitely grown up now!) which was my Secret Santa gift. It’s a really lovely and thoughtful gift, inspired by my upcoming challenge so I’d thought I’d share this one with you all.

Image

Image

A handmade vanity mirror with personalised message and a map of Peru on the back, complete with its own little bag and box to keep it safe. When I first opened the box I thought it was a small coaster for drinks which I did think was a bit odd, but my Santa (yes we figure out who our Santa is, so hardly very secret!) told me to turn it over to see the mirror – I got a bit of shock as wasn’t quite expecting a face staring back at me! It will be so handy on the trek itself, and one of those items which I hadn’t really given any thought to. In fact I hadn’t really given any thought to appearance in general. Is now a good time to panic about the lack of hair straighteners and make-up?! Maybe I’ll worry about that later. Anyway, I now have handy little mirror, just for me and perfect for the trek… and hopefully I’ll only need to use the mirror side and not need to study the map if we get lost!

Leave a Reply

